The challenges with the recognition and management of paediatric sepsis: your map of the yellow brick road

A review of the evidence

1 CPD Points, 1 CEUs.
Providers: CPDUK, CBRN

Sign In or Sign Up to access this lecture.

Amanda Harley help_outline
Queensland State-wide Paediatric Sepsis Clinical Nurse Consultant located at Children's Health Queensland
Lecture Summary

Paediatric sepsis remains one of the leading causes of preventable mortality for children. Global incidence exceeds 50% for the neonatal and paediatric population, with up to one third developing ongoing, sometimes lifelong sequelae. Early recognition and management is key to optimising outcomes, however can be difficult to recognise in the early stages. Paediatric sepsis is not isolated to the Emergency Department, but rather a journey that begins at home and encompasses the multidisciplinary team and families. This session will contextualise the many elements of paediatric sepsis and provide you with the tools to ensure your patient arrives at the emerald city.

NB.

This Free lectures comes with all premium features (note-taking, certification, etc) courtesy of ASN & CSL Behring

Target Audience

All healthcare professionals that care for padiatric septic patients

Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of this activity, you should be able to:

  • Understand the global burden of paediatric sepsis
  • Summarise the complexities of paediatric sepsis recognition and diagnosis
  • Describe the paediatric sepsis journey and the key contributors including nurses and the community
  • Demonstrate understanding of the importance of early recognition and management and the available tools and resources available to enhance knowledge and care
Additional Time Zones
  • Chicago: 20/09/2021 at 23:00
  • London: 21/09/2021 at 05:00
  • Sydney: 21/09/2021 at 14:00