Medical Ethics in the ICU: Part B

finding MORAL Balance during the pandemic

info_outline You can watch this lecture for free. For premium features, including the use of time-coded note taking or get downloadable slides, you will need a fair price subscription.

Sign In or Sign Up For Free to access this lecture.

Dan Harvey help_outline
National Lead for Innovation & Research in Organ Donation
Lecture Summary

The pandemic has brought the ICU medical ethics of decision making and resource management into the public arena. We have also witnessed suffering in ICU staff from moral distress at unprecedented levels. What ethical lessons has the pandemic taught us? Can we promote ethical discourse that is balanced, insightful and helpful and resist the bad and the ignorant? How do we stop those who promulgate moral panic, drawbridge ethics and magic number ethics? Can we find MORAL Balance? Yes, we can, let us show you how.

Target Audience

Critical Care Doctors
Experienced or advanced Critical Care Nurses

Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of this activity, you should be able to:

  • Recognise moral panic, drawbridge ethics and magic number ethics
  • Take a balanced and structured approach to resource management
  • Understand the place of frameworks in ethical decision making
  • Know how to use one ethical decision-making framework: MORAL Balance
Additional Time Zones
  • Chicago: 26/10/2021 at 07:00
  • London: 26/10/2021 at 13:00
  • Sydney: 26/10/2021 at 23:00